E-Vival: Mental Health Tips from Your Dear Old Auntie Dee (edited by R.K. Olson)

Dear Auntie, 

I am 41 and mother of four boys ages 10 to 22. My husband has this thing where he freaks out about his life and disappears for weeks, or sometimes months, and them comes back again. Sometimes he has money, although he hasn’t had a job in a long time. He doesn’t tell me where he goes and I don’t ask. When he’s home it’s just like he never left. But that’s not why I’m writing to you. I have some health issues. High blood pressure, adrenal fatigue, sleep apnea, fibromyalgia, anxiety, depression, bi polar disorder and a little bit of OCD just to round out the mix. I’m on a lot of meds, and disability. I volunteer for an abused animal rescue service in my spare time.   Auntie Dee, I’m trying to stay positive and take things one day at a time and all that, but some days I can barely get myself out of bed and face reality. Can you help me?

Mopey Mom

 

Dearest MM,

Of course I can — here’s what you do: Keep your smart phone under your pillow at night (as if you don’t already, right?) so that the very moment you awaken (and have downed a healthy day’s dose of Welbutrin) log directly on to checkiday.com. This will tell give you the mood-boost you need in the form of all the day’s national designations. For example today is National Skyscraper Day, National Bowling League Day and my personal favorite is, National Welsh Rarebit Day (complete with recipes!). Doesn’t knowing this make you feel better already? I know I do. Then, if you still need a little bump of something-something, you know, to take the last bit of edge off of having to spend another day being you — try #BarnysDay. There’s a couple in Terra Haute, IN who start their day at 4:30 AM by dressing their bulldog, Barney, in handmade outfits depicting each day’s national themes. Today Barney was wearing a bowling shirt and was captioned with a rousing reminder for us all, that unlike baseball, in bowling a strike is a good thing! How’s that? No more mopey mornings for you, dearie!

Keep the Charger Plugged,

Your very own Auntie,

Dee Prescent

Leave a comment